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Brief summary  
 
In a short paragraph, please summarize all substantive provisions of new regulations or changes to 
existing regulations that are being proposed in this regulatory action. 
              
 
The Board has repealed Chapter 20 and adopted a revised set of regulations in Chapter 21 to 
reorganize sections and provisions more logically and with more clarity.  Revisions to current 
regulations include: 1) a change in continuing competency requirements from 30 hours within 
two years to 10 hours annually, offered by an approved sponsor or provider; 2) a   required 
attestation by an applicant that he has read and will comply with the laws and regulations 
governing practice; 3) elimination of barriers to provisional licensure in audiology; and 4) more 
explicit rules for patient confidentiality, maintenance of records and violations of professional 
boundaries. 
 

Acronyms and Definitions  

 
Please define all acronyms used in the Agency Background Document.  Also, please define any technical 
terms that are used in the document that are not also defined in the “Definition” section of the regulations. 
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ASHA = American Speech-Language-Hearing Association 
 
FEES = Fiberoptic endoscopic evaluation of swallowing 
 
SHAV= Speech-Language-Hearing Association of Virginia 
 
SLP=Speech-Language Pathologist 
 

Legal basis 

 
Please identify the state and/or federal legal authority to promulgate this proposed regulation, including 
(1) the most relevant law and/or regulation, including Code of Virginia citation and General Assembly 
chapter number(s), if applicable, and (2) promulgating entity, i.e., the agency, board or person.  Describe 
the legal authority and the extent to which the authority is mandatory or discretionary.   
              
 
18VAC30-20-10 et seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology & Speech-Language 
Pathology are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 (6) provides the Board of Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology 
the authority to promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system: 
 

§ 54.1-2400 -General powers and duties of health regulatory boards  
The general powers and duties of health regulatory boards shall be:  
 … 
6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-
6.14:1 et seq.) which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 
regulatory system. Such regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this 
chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) and Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.) of this 
title. … 

 

Purpose  
 
Please explain the need for the new or amended regulation by (1) detailing the specific reasons why 
this regulatory action is essential to protect the health, safety, or welfare of citizens, and (2) discussing 
the goals of the proposal, the environmental benefits, and the problems the proposal is intended to solve. 
              
 
In order to arrange the regulations governing the practice of audiology and speech-language 
pathology in a more understandable, logical manner, the Board repealed the current chapter and 
promulgated a replacement chapter.  By doing so, the qualifications for each profession can be 
set out separately, and the regulations relating to provisional licensure in audiology can be set out 
in one section.   
 
Substantively, the qualifications for licensure will not change, but the continuing education 
requirements are modified to reflect annual renewals and to eliminate the Type 1 and Type 2 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-100
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2500
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categories.  Rather than 30 hours every two years, the Board proposes a requirement of 10 hours 
every year with the ability to transfer or credit excess hours to the next renewal year.  
Additionally, the grounds for unprofessional conduct are expanded to include problematic 
conduct for which the Board currently has no grounds for disciplinary action. 
Consistent with the Board’s responsibility to protect the health and safety of the public, it 
proposes additional grounds for disciplinary action for causes such as revocation, suspension or 
restriction by another regulatory board, failure to comply with laws on patient confidentiality and 
provision of records, and actions that would constitute a professional boundary.   
 

Substance 

 
Please briefly identify and explain new substantive provisions (for new regulations), substantive changes 
to existing sections or both where appropriate.  (More detail about all provisions or changes is requested 
in the “Detail of changes” section.) 
                
 
As stated above, Chapter 20 will be repealed to allow a clearer, more logical reorganization of 
regulations.  In the major parts of regulations, the following changes will be considered: 
 
General Provisions: 

• New definitions for words and terms used in revised regulations will be added, such as 
“active practice” and “ASHA”; terms no longer used will be eliminated, such as “Type 1” 
and “Type 2.” For consistency the term “client”, rather than “patient” will be used 
throughout the regulations and included in the definitions.   

 
• The requirement for posting a license will be amended to allow licensees to carry copies 

of their licenses to accommodate those who travel between facilities.  
 

• A requirement for furnishing legal proof to the Board evidencing a name change will be 
added. 

 
• There are no changes proposed in the application or renewal fees.  Some administrative 

fees will be increased to reflect current costs and for consistency within the Department. 
 
Requirements for Licensure 
 

• General application requirements for both professions will be set out in one section. 
 

• Requirements for licensure as an audiologist or as a speech-language pathologist will be 
placed in separate sections for greater clarity. 

 
• All requirements relating to provisional licensure, whether issued to obtain clinical 

experience for initial licensure or to practice for a period under supervision to qualify for 
licensure by endorsement, reactivation or reinstatement, will be placed in one section 
rather than scattered throughout the chapter. 
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• Requirements for licensure by endorsement will be modified to require current 
certification by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) or 
evidence of a graduate degree and passage of an examination.  Currently, an applicant 
can qualify by documentation of a current license and active practice for three of the past 
five years. 

 
Renewal and Continuing Competency (CE) 
 

• Proposal for a reduction in the number of required CE hours from 30 hour every two 
years to 10 hours per year; the 10 hours would have to be verifiable by a recognizable 
sponsor, educational institution or organization. 

 
• Elimination of Type 1 and Type 2 designated CE  

 
• Addition of ability to carryover up to 10 hours of CE to the next renewal period.   

 
Reactivation and Reinstatement 
 
Requirements from other sections of the current regulations would be inserted in this Part; there 
are no substantive changes recommended. 
 
Standards of Practice 
 

• The Board has recommended adding language on supervisory responsibilities that the 
practitioner is not prohibited from delegating to an unlicensed assistant such activities or 
functions as are nondiscretionary and do not require the exercise of professional 
judgment for their performance.  

 
• The Board has recommended adding language to address patient confidentiality, records 

retention, professional boundaries, advertising and disciplinary action taken by another 
professional regulatory agency. 

 

Issues 

 
Please identify the issues associated with the proposed regulatory action, including:  
1) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or 
businesses, of implementing the new or amended provisions;  
2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; and  
3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public.   
 
If the regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, please indicate. 
              
 

1) The primary advantage to the public is clearer, more explicit rules for client 
confidentiality and records, professional boundaries and delegation of tasks to 
unlicensed assistants.  In addition, greater clarity in licensure and renewal requirements 
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will encourage compliance with regulations to the benefit of licensees and the clients 
they serve.  There are no disadvantages. 

2) There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth, except 
the logical order of the revised regulation and more clarity in the rules may reduce the 
number of questions to staff and problems with non-compliance. 

3) There are no other pertinent matters. 
 

Requirements more restrictive than federal 

 
Please identify and describe any requirements of the proposal, which are more restrictive than applicable 
federal requirements.  Include a rationale for the more restrictive requirements. If there are no applicable 
federal requirements or no requirements that exceed applicable federal requirements, include a statement 
to that effect. 
              
 
There are no applicable federal requirements. 
 

Localities particularly affected 

 
Please identify any locality particularly affected by the proposed regulation. Locality particularly affected 
means any locality which bears any identified disproportionate material impact which would not be 
experienced by other localities.   
              
 
There are no localities affected. 
 

Public participation 
 
Please include a statement that in addition to any other comments on the proposal, the agency is seeking 
comments on the costs and benefits of the proposal and the impacts of the regulated community.   
              
 
In addition to any other comments, the board/agency is seeking comments on the costs and 
benefits of the proposal and the potential impacts of this regulatory proposal.  Also, the 
agency/board is seeking information on impacts on small businesses as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia.  Information may include 1) projected reporting, recordkeeping and 
other administrative costs, 2) probable effect of the regulation on affected small businesses, and 
3) description of less intrusive or costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 
regulation. 
 
Anyone wishing to submit written comments may do so via the Regulatory Townhall website,            
www.townhall.virginia.gov, or by mail to Elaine Yeatts at Department of Health Professions, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA  23233 or elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov  or 
by fax to (804) 527-4434.  Written comments must include the name and address of the 
commenter.  In order to be considered comments must be received by the last date of the public 
comment period. 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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A public hearing will be held and notice of the public hearing may appear on the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall website (www.townhall.virginia.gov) and the Commonwealth Calendar.  
Both oral and written comments may be submitted at that time. 
 

Economic impact 
 
Please identify the anticipated economic impact of the proposed new regulations or amendments to the 
existing regulation.  When describing a particular economic impact, please specify which new 
requirement or change in requirements create the anticipated economic impact.  
              
 
Projected cost to the state to implement and 
enforce the proposed regulation, including  
(a) fund source, and (b) a delineation of one-
time versus on-going expenditures. 

As a special fund agency, the Board must generate 
sufficient revenue to cover its expenditures from 
non-general funds, specifically the renewal and 
application fees it charges to practitioners or entities 
for necessary functions of regulation.  There would 
be a one-time expense of less than $500 for 
promulgation of the amended rule.  All notifications 
will be done electronically to minimize the cost.   
There are no on-going expenditures. 

Projected cost of the new regulations or changes to 
existing regulations on localities. 

None 

Description of the individuals, businesses or other  
entities likely to be affected by the new regulations 
or changes to existing regulations. 

Audiologists and Speech-language pathologists 

Agency’s best estimate of the number of such 
entities that will be affected.  Please include an 
estimate of the number of small businesses 
affected.  Small business means a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently 
owned and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 
500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales 
of less than $6 million.   

There are 2870 speech-language pathologists; 
456 audiologists; and 98 school speech pathologists.  
Since there are no data kept on practice sites for these 
professions, there is no information on the number of 
small businesses.  Speech-language pathologists are 
generally employed by health care institutions or school 
systems.  Audiologists are generally employed by health 
care systems or physician practices or have independent 
practice. 

All projected costs of the new regulations or 
changes to existing regulations for affected 
individuals, businesses, or other entities.  Please  be 
specific and include all costs.    Be sure to inclu de 
the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 
administrative costs required for compliance by 
small businesses.  Specify any costs related to the  
development of real estate for commercial or 
residential purposes that are a consequence of the 
proposed regulatory changes or new regulations.  

There are no projected costs for changes to the existing 
regulations. 

Beneficial impact the regulation is designed 
to produce. 

The beneficial impact is greater protection for patient 
records, appropriate delegation of tasks to unlicensed 
persons and less confusion about continuing competency 
requirements.  

 

Alternatives 
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Please describe any viable alternatives to the proposal considered and the rationale used by the agency 
to select the least burdensome or intrusive alternative that meets the essential purpose of the action. 
Also, include discussion of less intrusive or less costly alternatives for small businesses, as defined in 
§2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, of achieving the purpose of the regulation. 
               
 
Upon review of the requirements for licensure, the Board has expressed its concern that speech-
language pathologists are not required to complete a Clinical Fellowship Year (CFY). They can 
be fully licensed upon completion of the educational requirements and passage of the 
examination without any supervised experience in treating clients.   
 
To address similar concerns for audiologists, the Board recommended in 2006 legislation for a 
provisional license in audiology to allow a person who has met the educational and examination 
to obtain supervised experience or a CFY.  At that time, it was not deemed necessary to have a 
similar proposal for speech-language pathologists. 
 
The current Board is concerned that speech-language pathologists (SLP’s) are being licensed 
without supervised experience and has requested that staff explore the number of states currently 
requiring a CFY for (SLP’s) as well as audiologists.  In order to allow SLP’s to practice during 
the clinical fellowship year, it would be necessary to introduce legislation to expand language in 
§ 54.1-2604 for provisional licensure to include SLP’s. 
 
Additionally, the Board has noted in its review that dual licensure by the Board of Education and 
this Board for school speech-language pathologists may be duplicative and not be necessary.  In 
most states, there is now a single license issued by the health regulatory board that oversees the 
licensure and practice of SLP’s.  Currently in Virginia, the Code (§ 54.1-2603) requires a person 
seeking licensure from this Board as a school speech-language pathologist to first hold a license 
with an endorsement in speech-language pathology from the Board of Education, so introduction 
of legislation would be necessary to eliminate the duplication.  There has been some preliminary 
discussion with the Department of Education, and the concept of a single license will be explored 
further. 
 

Regulatory flexibility analysis 
 
Please describe the agency’s analysis of alternative regulatory methods, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental, and economic welfare, that will accomplish the objectives of applicable law while 
minimizing the adverse impact on small business.  Alternative regulatory methods include, at a minimum: 
1) the establishment of less stringent compliance or reporting requirements; 2) the establishment of less 
stringent schedules or deadlines for compliance or reporting requirements; 3) the consolidation or 
simplification of compliance or reporting requirements; 4) the establishment of performance standards for 
small businesses to replace design or operational standards required in the proposed regulation; and 5) 
the exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the requirements contained in the proposed 
regulation. 
               
 
There are no alternative methods consistent with health, safety and welfare that will accomplish 
the objective. 
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Public comment 
 
Please summarize all comments received during the public comment period following the publication of 
the NOIRA, and provide the agency response.  
                

 
A Notice of Periodic Review was published on July 5, 2010 with comment requested until 
August 4, 2010; no comment was received. 
 
A Notice of Intended Regulatory Action was published on April 11, 2011 with comment 
requested until May 11, 2011; no comment was received. 
 

Family impact 
 
Please assess the impact of the proposed regulatory action on the institution of the family and family 
stability including to what extent the regulatory action will: 1) strengthen or erode the authority and rights 
of parents in the education, nurturing, and supervision of their children; 2) encourage or discourage 
economic self-sufficiency, self-pride, and the assumption of responsibility for oneself, one’s spouse, and 
one’s children and/or elderly parents; 3) strengthen or erode the marital commitment; and 4) increase or 
decrease disposable family income.  
               
 
There is no impact on the family. 
 

Detail of changes 
 
Chapter 20 is being repealed and replaced by Chapter 21 in order to reorganize regulations in a 
more logical manner. 
 
Secti

on 
num
ber 

Proposed requirements Other regulations and 
law that apply 

Intent and likely impact of 
proposed requirements 

10 A. The words and terms 
"audiologist," "board," "practice of 
audiology," "practice of speech-
language pathology," "speech-language 
disorders," and "speech-language 
pathologist" when used in this chapter 
shall have the meanings ascribed to them 
in § 54.1-2600 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. The following words when used 
in this chapter shall have the following 
meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

“Active practice” means a minimum 
of 160 hours of professional practice as 
an audiologist or speech-language 
pathologist for each 12-month period 
immediately preceding application for 

Definitions are currently 
found in Section 10 of 
Chapter 20. 
Terms newly defined are 
active practice, ASHA, 
and client. 
 
Terms no longer defined 
in Chapter 21 are:  Type 1 
and Type 2. 

New terms in the revised 
regulations are defined for clarity 
in usage. 
 
Terms that are not defined are not 
used in the revised regulations. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2600
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licensure. Active practice may include 
supervisory, administrative, educational, 
research or consultative activities or 
responsibilities for the delivery of such 
services. 

“ASHA” means the American 
Speech-Language-Hearing Association. 

“Client” means a patient or person 
receiving services in audiology or 
speech-language pathology. 

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of 
time spent in continuing learning 
activities.  

"School speech-language 
pathologist" means a person licensed 
pursuant to § 54.1-2603 of the Code of 
Virginia to provide speech-language 
pathology services solely in public 
school divisions.  
"Supervision" means that the audiologist 
or speech-language pathologist is 
responsible for the entire service being 
rendered or activity being performed, is 
available for consultation, and is 
providing regular monitoring and 
documentation of clinical activities and 
competencies of the person being 
supervised. 

20 A. There shall be separate licenses 
for the practices of audiology and 
speech-language pathology. It is 
prohibited for any person to practice as 
an audiologist or a speech-language 
pathologist unless the person has been 
issued the appropriate license.  

B. A licensee shall post his license 
in a place conspicuous to the public in 
each facility in which the licensee is 
employed and holds himself out to 
practice; or if not practical to post the 
license, the licensee shall provide a copy 
of his license upon request.  
 

Subsection A is currently 
found in section 45 of 
Chapter 20 
 
Subsection B is currently 
found in section 50 of 
Chapter 20 
 

There is no new impact on 
licensees, as this section is a 
restatement of current rule. 
 
Additional language in subsection 
B allows someone to provide a 
copy of his license upon request if 
it is not practical to post his license 
in the facility where he is working.   
That change is far more reasonable 
for licensees who work in large 
health care facilities or who rotate 
among a number of work settings. 
 
 

30 A. All changes of name, address of 
record or public address, if different 
from the address of record, shall be 
furnished to the board within 30 days 
after the change occurs.  

B. A licensee who has changed his 
name shall submit as legal proof to the 
board a copy of the marriage certificate 
or court order evidencing the change. A 
duplicate license shall be issued by the 
board upon receipt of such evidence and 
the required fee. 
C. All notices required by law and by 

Subsection A is currently 
subsection A of section 70 
in Chapter 20. 
 
Subsection B is a new 
requirement. 
 
Subsection C is currently 
subsection C of section 70 
in Chapter 20. 

Subsection B is current policy for 
evidence of a name change and 
issuance of a new license, but it has 
not been stated in regulation for 
this board as it is for other boards. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2603
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this chapter to be mailed by the board to 
any registrant or licensee shall be validly 
given when mailed to the latest address 
of record on file with the board. 

40 Subsection A establishes the fees that 
shall be paid as applicable for licensure. 
 $135 
 $25 

Subsection B states: Fees shall be made 
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and 
shall not be refunded once submitted 

All fees in subsection A 
are identical to current 
fees set forth in section 
80, except: 
 
Verification from other 
states is $20; proposed fee 
is $25 
Reinstatement of 
audiology or speech-
language license is 
currently $135; proposed 
fee is $160 
Reinstatement of school 
speech-language is 
currently $70; proposed is 
$85 
Duplicate license is 
currently $5; proposed is 
$15 
 
Requirement is subsection 
B is identical to 
subsection B of section 80 
in current regulation. 

The increase in administrative fees 
for verification and duplicate 
licenses brings the fees consistent 
with other boards within the 
department and consistent with the 
Fee Principles (1999) which 
requires that such fees be sufficient 
to cover the cost of the service 
provided. 
 
The increase in the reinstatement 
fee reflects the current total cost - 
$135 plus the late fee of $25. 
Having the late fee included in the 
reinstatement fee is less confusing 
to applicants. 

50 A. A person seeking licensure as an 
audiologist, a speech-language 
pathologist, or a school speech-language 
pathologist shall submit:  

1. A completed and signed 
application;  

2. The applicable fee prescribed in 
18VAC30-21-40;  

3. Documentation as required by the 
board to determine if the applicant has 
met the qualifications for licensure 
specified in 18VAC30-21-60 for 
audiology or 18VAC30-21-80 for 
speech-language pathology; and 

4. An attestation that the applicant 
has read, understands and will comply 
with the statutes and regulations 
governing the practice of audiology or 
speech-language pathology.  

B. An incomplete application 
package shall be retained by the board 
for a period of one year from the date the 
application is received by the board.  If 
an application is not completed within 
the year, an applicant shall reapply and 
pay a new application fee. 
 

Subsection A (##1-3) are 
currently found in 
subsection A of section 
180. 
 
#4 is a new requirement 
for an attestation that the 
applicant is familiar with 
the laws and regulations 
governing practice 
 
Subsection B is found in 
subsection B of section 
180,  but the one-year 
period is more explicitly 
stated to begin on the date 
the application is received 
by the board.  The 
proposed regulation also 
states the current policy of 
the board to require a new 
application and fee after 
the one-year retention 
period. 

There are no new application 
requirements, except the attestation 
on laws and regulations.  Other 
health profession boards either 
require an attestation or a passage 
of a jurisprudence examination.  
The Board did not want to impose 
a new burden and cost for 
applicants by requiring an 
examination. 
 
Subsection B clarifies current 
policy for retention of applications 
and is consistent with departmental 
policies on retention of 
documentation. 
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60 The board may grant a license to an 
applicant for licensure in audiology who:  

1. Holds a current and unrestricted 
Certificate of Clinical Competence in 
audiology issued by the American 
Speech-Language-Hearing Association, 
certification issued by the American 
Board of Audiology or any other 
accrediting body recognized by the 
board. Verification of currency shall be 
in the form of a certified letter from a 
recognized accrediting body issued 
within six months prior to licensure; and  

2. Has passed the qualifying 
examination from an accrediting body 
recognized by the board within the three 
years preceding application.  If the 
examination was not passed within three 
years preceding the date of applying for 
licensure, the applicant shall provide: 

a. Evidence of active practice in 
audiology for one of the past three years 
immediately preceding application; 

b. Practice for six months with a 
provisional license under supervision; or 

c. Retake the licensure examination. 
 

The requirements in 
section 60 are currently in 
subsection A of section 
170. 
 
The alternative for 
passage of the 
examination within 3 
years immediately 
preceding application is 
currently “actively 
engaged in the respective 
profession” one of the 
past 3 years. 
 
In the proposed 
regulations, two 
additional options are 
available:  1) practice for 
6 months with a 
provisional license in Va. 
or 2) retake the Praxis 
examination. 
 
The requirement for 
active practice is now 
defined in section 10 so 
there is a consistent 
standard for the applicant 
and the Board. 

There are no new requirements for 
licensure in audiology, but there 
are additional options for meeting 
the requirement for passage of the 
examination within 3 years or 
active practice for one of the past 3 
years.  The intent is to remove any 
unnecessary barriers to licensure 
while ensuring minimal 
competency to practice. 

70 A.  Provisional license to qualify for 
initial licensure. An applicant may be 
issued a provisional license in order to 
obtain clinical experience required for 
certification by the American Speech-
Language-Hearing Association, the 
American Board of Audiology or any 
other accrediting body recognized by the 
board.  To obtain a provisional license in 
order to qualify for initial licensure, the 
applicant shall submit a completed 
application and fee with documentation 
that he:  

1. Has successfully completed all 
the didactic coursework required for the 
doctoral degree as documented by a 
college or university whose audiology 
program is accredited by the Council on 
Academic Accreditation of the 
American Speech-Language-Hearing 
Association or an equivalent accrediting 
body;  

2, Has read, understands and will 
comply with the statutes and regulations 
governing the practice of audiology; and 

3. Has passed a qualifying 

Provisions of subsection 
A are currently found in 
subsection A of section 
171, but two barriers to a 
provisional license have 
been eliminated. 
 
Currently, an applicant for 
a provisional license to 
qualify for initial 
licensure must be 
“currently enrolled in a 
doctoral program.”  
Additionally, an applicant 
must have passed the 
exam within the past 3 
years. That prohibits 
someone who has the 
degree and credential but 
did not pass the 
examination within the 
past 3 years from 
obtaining a provisional 
license to qualify for 
initial licensure by 6 
months of practice under 

The deletion of two requirements 
for provisional licensure will 
enable a few applicants to qualify 
who are ineligible under the current 
regulations. 
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examination from an accrediting body 
recognized by the board. 

B.  Provisional license to qualify for 
endorsement or re-entry into practice. 
An applicant may be issued a 
provisional licensure in order to qualify 
for licensure by endorsement pursuant to 
subdivision 7 of 18VAC30-21-90, 
reactivation of an inactive license 
pursuant to subsection D of 18VAC30-
21-120 or reinstatement of a lapsed 
license pursuant to subsection C of 
18VAC30-21-130.  To obtain a 
provisional license in order to qualify for 
licensure by endorsement or for re-entry 
to practice, he shall submit a completed 
application and fee with documentation 
that he: 

1. Holds a master's degree or its 
equivalent as determined by the board or 
a doctoral degree from a college or 
university whose audiology program is 
accredited by the Council on Academic 
Accreditation of the American Speech-
Language-Hearing Association or an 
equivalent accrediting body; and 

2. Passed a qualifying examination 
from an accrediting body recognized by 
the board at the time of initial licensure.  

C. All provisional licenses shall 
expire 18 months from the date of 
issuance and may be renewed for an 
additional six months by payment of a 
renewal fee. Renewal of a provisional 
license beyond 24 months shall be for 
good cause shown as determined by a 
committee of the board.  

D. The holder of a provisional 
license in audiology shall only practice 
under the supervision of a licensed 
audiologist and shall be responsible and 
accountable for the safe performance of 
those direct client care tasks to which he 
has been assigned. 

E. Licensed audiologists providing 
supervision shall: 

1. Notify the board of the intent to 
provide supervision for a provisional 
licensee; 

2. Have at least three years of active 
practice as an audiologist prior to acting 
as a supervisor; 

3. Document the frequency and 
nature of the supervision of provisional 
licensees; 

4. Be responsible and accountable 

supervision – so those 
requirements were deleted 
in the proposed 
regulations. 
 
 
Provisions of subsection 
B are currently found in 
subsection C of section 
160 (reinstatement) and 
subsection C of section 
185 (endorsement).  A 
provisional license for an 
audiologist seeking 
reactivation of an inactive 
license is currently not 
available. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Provisions of subsection 
C are currently found in 
subsection B of section 
171. 
 
 
 
 
 
Provisions of subsection 
D are currently found in 
subsection C of section 
171. 
 
 
 
 
Provisions of subsection 
E are currently found in 
subsection D of section 
171 with the addition of 
#2, requiring that the 
supervisor of a 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The requirement for 3 years of 
experience to supervise a 
provisional licensee is necessary to 
ensure sufficient clinical 
experience by the supervisor to 
monitor performance and be 
accountable for appropriate 
assignment of tasks and patients. 
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for the assignment of clients and tasks 
based on their assessment and evaluation 
of the provisional licensee's knowledge 
and skills; and 

5. Monitor clinical performance and 
intervene if necessary for the safety and 
protection of the clients. 

F. The identity of a provisional 
licensee shall be disclosed to the client 
prior to treatment and shall be made a 
part of the client's file. 

provisional licensee have 
at least 3 years of active 
practice. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Provisions of subsection F 
are currently found in 
subsection E of section 
171. 

80 A. The board may grant a license to an 
applicant for licensure as a speech-
language pathologist who: 

1. Holds a master's degree or its 
equivalent as determined by the board or 
a doctoral degree from a college or 
university whose speech-language 
program is accredited by the Council on 
Academic Accreditation of the 
American Speech-Language-Hearing 
Association or an equivalent accrediting 
body; or  

2. Holds a current and unrestricted 
Certificate of Clinical Competence in 
speech-language pathology issued by the 
American Speech-Language-Hearing 
Association or any other accrediting 
body recognized by the board as verified 
by a certified letter from the recognized 
accrediting body issued within six 
months prior to licensure; and 

3. Has passed a qualifying 
examination from an accrediting body 
recognized by the board within three 
years preceding the date of applying for 
licensure in Virginia. If the examination 
was not passed within three years 
preceding the date of applying for 
licensure, the applicant shall provide: 

a. Evidence of active practice in 
speech-language pathology for one 
of the past three years immediately 
preceding application; or 
b. Retake the licensure examination. 

B. The board may grant a license to an 
applicant as a school speech-language 
pathologist who: 

1. Holds a master's degree in 

Subsection A is taken 
from subsections A and B 
of section 170 in the 
current regulation. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Subsection B is identical 
to subsection C of section 
170 in current regulations. 

There are no new or different 
requirements for licensure for 
speech-language pathologists. 
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speech-language-pathology; and 
2. Holds an endorsement in speech-
language pathology from the Virginia 
Department of Education. 

90 An applicant for licensure in 
audiology or speech-language pathology 
who has been licensed in another U. S. 
jurisdiction may apply for licensure in 
Virginia by submission of: 

1. A completed application and 
payment of the application fee; 

2. Documentation of a current, 
unrestricted license in another U. S. 
jurisdiction, or if lapsed, evidence of 
eligibility for reinstatement;  

3. An attestation that the applicant 
has read, understands and will comply 
with the statutes and regulations 
governing the practice of audiology or 
speech-language pathology; 

4. Submission of documentation of 
10 continuing competency hours for 
each year in which he has been licensed 
in the other jurisdiction, not to exceed 30 
hours;  

5. Documentation that no 
disciplinary action is pending or 
unresolved against his license in another 
jurisdiction. The board reserves the right 
to deny a request for licensure to any 
applicant who has been determined to 
have committed an act in violation of 
18VAC30-21-160. 

6. Documentation of: 
a. A current and unrestricted 
Certificate of Clinical 
Competence in the area in 
which he seeks licensure issued 
by the American Speech-
Language-Hearing Association, 
certification issued by the 
American Board of Audiology 
or any other accrediting body 
recognized by the board. 
Verification of currency shall 
be in the form of a certified 
letter from a recognized 
accrediting body; or 
b. A graduate degree from a 
college or university whose 
audiology or speech-language 
pathology program is 
accredited by the Council or 
Academic Accreditation of 
ASHA or an equivalent body 
and passage of a qualifying 

Requirements for 
licensure by endorsement 
in section 90 are taken 
from section 185 in 
current regulations. 
 
The differences are: 
 
#2 - Current regulations 
require a “current 
license” in another 
jurisdiction in the U.S.; 
proposed regulations 
allow the license to be 
lapsed but eligible for 
reinstatement and in 
another U. S. jurisdiction. 
 
#3 – All applicants for 
licensure, by examination 
or endorsement, will be 
required to attest to an 
understanding of laws and 
regulations governing the 
profession. 
 
#4 – Current regulations 
require documentation of 
15 hours of CE for each 
year the applicant has 
been licensed for a 
maximum of 60 hours; 
proposed regulations 
require 10 hours for each 
year for a maximum of 30 
hours. 
 
#5 – Current regulations 
specify that the applicant 
must provide evidence 
that no disciplinary has 
been taken or is pending; 
proposed regulations 
specify that no action is 
pending or unresolved. 
 
#6 – Current regulations 
allow an applicant to be 
licensed solely by 
evidence of active 
practice; proposed 
regulations require 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
#2 - The proposed regulations will 
allow someone who has allowed a 
license in another jurisdiction to 
lapse to be licensed by 
endorsement without having to 
meet requirements for initial 
licensure, if the licensee is eligible 
for reinstatement. 
Current regulations restrict 
licensure by endorsement to a 
licensee of another state in the 
U.S.; proposed regulations will 
include U. S. territories. 
 
#3 – The attestation is used by 
boards that do not require a 
jurisprudence examination. 
 
#4 – Ten hours per year is 
consistent with the proposed 
requirement for renewal of an 
active license in Virginia.  Current 
and proposed regulations require 
evidence of active practice for 3 of 
the past 5 years, so the equivalent 
of 3 years of CE is more 
reasonable. 
 
#5 – An applicant may have had a 
previous disciplinary action for a 
minor violation that would not 
constitute grounds for denial in 
Virginia (i.e., failure to obtain 
required CE).  The proposed 
regulation is less restrictive and 
more reasonable. 
 
#6 – The Board has determined 
that evidence of education and 
examination is necessary to ensure 
that minimum competency to 
practice in Virginia can be assured.  
Current certification from ASHA 
or AAA would provide such 
evidence because those 
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examination from an 
accrediting body recognized by 
the board; and 

7. Evidence of active practice in 
another U. S. jurisdiction for at least 
three of the past five years.  

a. An applicant for licensure in 
audiology who does not meet 
the requirement for active 
practice may qualify by 
practice for six months with a 
provisional license in 
accordance with 18VAC30-21-
70 and by receiving a 
recommendation for licensure 
by his supervisor.  
b. An applicant for licensure in 
speech-language pathology 
who does not meet the 
requirement for active practice 
shall meet the requirements of 
18VAC30-21-80. 

evidence of current 
professional certification 
or a graduate degree in 
your profession.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
#7 is taken from 
subsection C of section 
185 in current regulations.  
Since the law does not 
authorize issuance of a 
provisional license to a 
speech-language 
pathologist, the applicant 
who does not have active 
practice for three years 
must qualify for initial 
licensure. 

credentialing bodies require 
graduate degrees and passage of an 
examination for issuance of 
certification.  If the applicant has 
not maintained current 
certification, he can provide a 
transcript and exam scores to verify 
qualification. 

100 A. A person who desires to renew 
his license shall, not later than December 
31 of each year, submit the renewal 
notice and applicable renewal fee. A 
licensee who fails to renew his license 
by the expiration date shall have a lapsed 
license, and practice with a lapsed 
license may constitute grounds for 
disciplinary action by the board.  

B. A person who fails to renew his 
license by the expiration date may renew 
at any time within one year of expiration 
by submission of a renewal notice, the 
renewal fee and late fee, and statement 
of compliance with continuing education 
requirements.  

Provisions of section 100 
are identical to those 
currently found in section 
150. 

 

110 A. In order to renew an active 
license, a licensee shall complete at least 
10 contact hours of continuing learning 
activities in the year immediately 
preceding renewal. Continuing learning 
hours in excess of the number required 
for renewal may be transferred or 
credited to the next renewal year for a 
total of not more than 10 hours. 

B. Continuing learning activities 
shall be activities, programs or courses 
related to speech-language pathology or 
audiology, depending on the license 
held, and offered or approved  by one of 
the following accredited sponsors or 
organizations sanctioned by the 
profession:  

1. The Speech-Language Hearing 

Continuing competency 
(CC) requirements for 
renewal of licensure are 
currently found in section 
300. 
 
Currently, regulations 
require 30 hours within 2 
years preceding licensure; 
proposed regulations will 
require 10 hours in the 
year preceding annual 
renewal and eliminate 
“Type 2 hours.”  A 
licensee will be able to 
carry over up to 10 hours 
and have them credited to 
the following year. 

 
 
 
 
When renewal was changed from 
biennial to annual in 2004, the 
section on CC was not amended, so 
the requirement remained 30 hours 
within 2 years preceding renewal.  
The difference between the CC 
requirement and the renewal of 
license has been confusing, so the 
annual time frame has been made 
consistent. 
 
Maintenance of ASHA certification 
requires 30 hours of verifiable, 
approved continuing education 
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Association of Virginia or similar state 
speech-language hearing association of 
another state;  

2. The American Academy of 
Audiology;  

3. The American Speech-Language 
Hearing Association;  

4. The Accreditation Council on 
Continuing Medical Education of the 
American Medical Association offering 
Category I continuing medical 
education;.  

5. Local, state or federal 
government agencies;  

6. Colleges and universities;  
7. International Association of 

Continuing Education and Training; or  
8. Health care organizations 

accredited by the Joint Commission on 
Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations (JCAHO).  

C. If the licensee is dually licensed 
by this board as an audiologist and 
speech-language pathologist, a total of 
no more than 15 continuing learning 
hours are required for renewal of both 
licenses with a minimum of 7.5 contact 
hours in each profession.  

E. A licensee shall be exempt from 
the continuing competency requirements 
for the first renewal following the date 
of initial licensure by examination in 
Virginia.  

F. The licensee shall retain his 
records on the completed form with all 
supporting documentation for a period of 
three years following the renewal of an 
active license. Supporting 
documentation shall include the title of 
the course, the name of the sponsoring 
organization, the date of the course and 
the number of hours credited.  

G. The board shall periodically 
conduct an audit for compliance with 
continuing competency requirements.  
Licensees selected for an audit 
conducted by the board shall complete 
the Continued Competency Activity and 
Assessment Form and provide all 
supporting documentation within 30 
days of receiving notification of the 
audit.  

H. The board may grant an 
extension of the deadline for continuing 
competency requirements, for up to one 
year, for good cause shown upon a 

 
Subsection B, which 
listed the approved 
sponsors or providers is 
almost identical to the 
listing in section 300 of 
current regulations; in 
proposed regulations, a 
sponsor approved by the 
Board has been 
eliminated. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Subsection C is similar to 
subsection B of section 
300 in current regulations 
in that there is credit 
allowed for someone who 
is dually licensed. Rather 
than 10 hours for each 
profession, the licensee is 
required to obtain 15 
hours with a minimum of 
half the hours directed to 
each profession. 
 
Subsection E is similar to 
subsection C in current 
regulations, but the 
incorrect reference to 
biennial renewal is 
eliminated. 
 
Subsection F is similar to 
subsection D in current 
regulations, but the 
retention period is 
changed from 4 years to 3 
years.  Additionally, 
“supporting 
documentation” is further 
specified so licensees will 
know what information 

every 3 years; so the Board 
believes it is less burdensome to 
licensees to require 10 hours per 
year for annual renewal.  The 
Board has also eliminated credit for 
Type 2 hours, which are not 
offered by an approved sponsor or 
provider and are not verifiable. To 
allow for credit for lengthy and in-
depth CE coursework, a licensee 
will be allowed to carry-over up to 
10 hours to the next renewal cycle. 
 
The elimination of board-approved 
sponsors will not have an impact 
because the board has not approved 
CE providers and there are no such 
sponsors or providers. 
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written request from the licensee prior to 
the renewal date. The board may grant 
an exemption for all or part of the 
requirements for circumstances beyond 
the control of the licensee, such as 
temporary disability, mandatory military 
service, or officially declared disasters. 
I. Failure to comply with these 
requirements may subject the licensee to 
disciplinary action by the board. 

must be retained in the 
event they are audited. 
 
Subsection G is similar to 
subsection E in current 
regulations; proposed 
regulations specify that 
the board will conduct a 
periodic audit for 
compliance. 
 
Subsection H is taken 
from subsections G and H 
in current regulation in 
section 300. 
 
Subsection I is identical to 
subsection F in current 
regulations. 

120 A. speech-language pathologist or 
audiologist who holds a current, 
unrestricted license in Virginia may, 
upon a request on the renewal 
application and submission of the 
required fee, be issued an inactive 
license. The holder of an inactive license 
shall not be required to maintain 
continuing competency requirements 
and shall not be entitled to perform any 
act requiring a license to practice 
speech-language pathology or audiology 
in Virginia. 

B. A licensee whose license has 
been inactive and who requests 
reactivation of an active license shall file 
an application, pay the difference 
between the inactive and active renewal 
fees for the current year, and provide 
documentation of current ASHA 
certification or of having completed 10 
continued competency hours equal to the 
requirement for the number of years in 
which the license has been inactive, not 
to exceed 40 contact hours.  

C. A licensee who does not 
reactivate within five years shall meet 
the requirements of subsection B of this 
section and shall either: 

1. Meet the requirements for initial 
licensure as prescribed by 18VAC30-21-
60 for an audiologist or 18VAC30-21-80 
for a speech-language pathologist; or 

2. Provide documentation of a 
current license in another jurisdiction in 
the United States and evidence of active 
practice for at least three of the past five 

Rules for an inactive 
license in subsection A 
are identical to section 
310 in current regulations. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Subsection B is the same 
as subsection A of section 
320 in current rules, 
except an applicant for 
reactivation may submit 
documentation of current 
ASHA certification as 
evidence of continued 
competency. 
 
 
 
 
Rules in subsection C for 
reactivation of a license 
inactive for five or more 
years are new in proposed 
regulation. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
If a licensee has maintained ASHA 
certification, that is evidence that 
he has completed at least 10 hours 
of CE each year in which his 
license has been inactive. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Whether a licensee has taken an 
inactive status or allowed his 
license to lapse, he was not 
authorized to practice in Virginia.  
After five years, the Board needs 
some additional evidence of 
competency to return to active 
practice.  If the licensee has 
continued to practice in another 
state for at least 3 or the 5 years, 
that can suffice as evidence of 
continued competency or he can 
provide evidence that he meets the 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC30-21-60
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC30-21-60
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC30-21-80
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years.  
D. An applicant for reactivation in 

audiology who does not meet one of the 
requirements of subsection C of this 
section may qualify for reactivation of 
licensure by practice under supervision 
with a provisional license for six months 
and a recommendation for reinstatement 
by his supervisor. The board may issue a 
provisional license to an applicant who 
can provide evidence of having met the 
applicable qualifications prescribed in 
subsection B of 18VAC30-21-70. 
Provisional licensure shall be practiced 
under the supervision of a licensed 
audiologist and in accordance with 
18VAC30-21-70.  
E. The board reserves the right to deny a 
request for reactivation to any licensee 
who has been determined to have 
committed an act in violation of 
18VAC30-21-160. 

 
 
Subsection D allows for a 
six-month period of 
provisional licensee for an 
audiologist seeking to 
reactivate who does not 
have active practice for 3 
of the past 5 years.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Subsection E is identical 
to subsection B in section 
320 in current regulations. 
 
 

requirements for initial licensure. 
 
Subsection D is the same as current 
regulations for reinstatement of a 
license lapsed for 5 or more years. 
 
 

130 A. When a license has not been renewed 
within one year of the expiration date, a 
person may apply to reinstate his license 
by submission of a reinstatement 
application, payment of the 
reinstatement fee, and submission of 
documentation of current ASHA 
certification or at least 10 continuing 
competency hours for each year the 
license has been lapsed, not to exceed 40 
hours, obtained during the time the 
license in Virginia was lapsed.  

B. A licensee who does not reinstate 
within five years shall meet the 
requirements of subsection A of this 
section and shall either: 

1. Reinstate by meeting the 
requirements for initial licensure as 
prescribed by 18VAC30-21-60 for an 
audiologist or 18VAC30-21-80 for a 
speech-language pathologist; or 

2. Provide documentation of a 
current license in another U. S. 
jurisdiction and evidence of active 
practice for at least three of the past five 
years.  

C. An applicant for reinstatement in 
audiology who does not meet one of the 
requirements of subsection B of this 
section may qualify for reinstatement by 
practice under supervision with a 
provisional license for six months and a 
recommendation for reinstatement by his 

Rules for reinstatement of 
a lapsed license in 
subsection A are identical 
to section 160 in current 
regulations; except the 
CC requirement is 10 
hours for each year the 
license was lapsed, with a 
maximum of 40 hours, 
rather than 15 hours with 
a maximum of 60 hours.  
Additionally, the 
applicant may use current 
ASHA certification as 
evidence of competency. 
 
Subsection B is identical 
to current rules and policy 
for reinstatement of a 
license lapsed five or 
more years. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Subsection C is the same 
as subsection C of section 
160 in current rules. 
 
 

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC30-21-70
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC30-21-70
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC30-20-280
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supervisor. The board may issue a 
provisional license to an applicant who 
can provide evidence of having met the 
applicable qualifications prescribed in 
subsection B of 18VAC30-21-70. 
Provisional licensure shall be practiced 
under the supervision of a licensed 
audiologist and in accordance with 
18VAC30-21-70.  

D. If the licensee holds licensure in 
any other state or jurisdiction, he shall 
provide evidence that no disciplinary 
action is unresolved or is pending. The 
board reserves the right to deny a request 
for reinstatement to any licensee who 
has been determined to have committed 
an act in violation of 18VAC30-21-160. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Subsection D is taken 
from subsection D of 
section 160, except 
current regulations say 
evidence that no 
disciplinary action “has 
been taken” and proposed 
rules say “no disciplinary 
action is unresolved.”   

140 A. A licensed audiologist and speech-
language pathologist shall provide 
documented supervision to unlicensed 
assistants, shall be held fully responsible 
for their performance and activities, and 
shall ensure that they perform only those 
activities which do not constitute the 
practice of audiology or speech-
language pathology and which are 
commensurate with their level of 
training. 

B. A licensee may delegate to an 
unlicensed assistant such activities or 
functions that are non-discretionary and 
do not require the exercise of 
professional judgment for their 
performance.  

C. The identity of the unlicensed 
assistant shall be disclosed to the client 
prior to treatment and shall be made a 
part of the client's file.  

Subsection A on 
supervision of unlicensed 
assistants is identical to 
subsection A of section 
240 in current regulations. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Subsection B is new in 
the proposed regulations. 
 
 
 
 
Subsection C is identical 
to subsection B of section 
240 in current regulations. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Board frequently has questions 
about what may be delegated to an 
unlicensed assistant.  It does not 
believe regulations should attempt 
to state a laundry list of duties and 
tasks, but it does need to specify 
the types of activities and functions 
that may be appropriately 
delegated.  Language in subsection 
B is identical to provisions in other 
health professional regulations on 
delegation (See § 54.1-2901 #6). 

141 A. For the purposes of this section, an 
endoscopic procedure shall mean a 
flexible endoscopic evaluation of 
swallowing limited to the use of 
flexible endoscopes to observe, 
collect data, and measure the 
parameters of swallowing for the 
purposes of functional assessment 
and therapy planning. 
B. A speech-language pathologist 

who performs an endoscopic procedure 
shall meet the following qualifications: 

1. Completion of a course or 

All of section 141 was 
proposed prior to the 
periodic review and will 
be identical in the new 
chapter.   

Since there are other endoscopic 
procedures that may not be within 
the scope of practice for an SLP, 
for the purposes of this section, an 
endoscopic procedure is defined in 
subsection A. 

  
 
 
Subsection B sets out the 
qualifications necessary for an SLP 
to safely perform FEES. Section 
300 references approved providers 
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courses or an educational program 
offered by a provider approved in 
18VAC30-20-300 that includes at least 
12 hours on endoscopic procedures; 

2. Successful performance of at 
least 25 flexible endoscopic procedures 
under the immediate and direct 
supervision of a board-certified 
otolaryngologist or another speech-
language pathologist who has 
successfully performed at least 50 
flexible endoscopic procedures beyond 
the 25 required for initial qualification 
and has been approved in writing by a 
board-certified otolaryngologist to 
provide that supervision; and 

3. Current certification in Basic Life 
Support (BLS). 
C. The speech-language pathologist 

who qualifies to perform an endoscopic 
procedure, pursuant to subsection B, 
shall maintain documentation of course 
completion and written verification from 
the supervising otolaryngologist or 
speech-language pathologist of 
successful completion of flexible 
endoscopic procedures.   

D. An endoscopic procedure shall 
only be performed by a speech-language 
pathologist on referral from an 
otolaryngologist or other qualified 
physician. 

E. A speech-language pathologist 
shall only perform an endoscopic 
procedure in a facility that has protocols 
in place for emergency medical backup. 
A flexible endoscopic evaluation of 
swallowing shall only be performed by a 
speech-language pathologist in either: 

1. A licensed hospital or nursing 
home under the general supervision of a 
physician who is readily available in the 
event of an emergency, including 
physical presence in the facility or 
available by telephone; or  

2. A physician’s office at which the 
physician is on premises and available to 
provide on-site supervision. 

F. The speech-language pathologist 
shall promptly report any observed 
abnormality or adverse reaction to the 
referring physician and/or an appropriate 
medical specialist.  The speech-language 
pathologist shall provide a report of an 
endoscopic procedure to the referring 
physician in a timely manner and, if 

of continuing education, which 
may include all related professional 
organizations/associations, health 
care organizations accredited by 
the Joint Commission on 
Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations, colleges and 
universities, and providers of 
Category 1 continuing medical 
education.  Consequently, there are 
numerous resources available for 
an SLP who is not already 
qualified to perform endoscopic 
procedures to become qualified if it 
is necessary for his/her practice.   

To ensure that an SLP has the 
skills and training to perform the 
procedure, the qualifications 
include performance of at least 25 
under supervision.  An 
otolaryngologist may supervise the 
practical experience requirement.  
If an SLP has performed at least 50 
procedures over and above the 25 
required for initial qualification 
and been approved in writing by a 
board-certified otolaryngologist, 
the SLP may supervise training in 
FEES. 

The requirement for Basic Life 
Support is essential to ensure the 
SLP has emergency care skills 
necessary to handle an adverse 
reaction or problem that might 
develop. 

 
Subsection C requires that the SLP 
who qualifies to perform an 
endoscopic procedure to maintain 
documentation.  

Since the Board will not 
certify SLP’s in an endoscopic 
procedure, it is necessary for the 
licensee to maintain documentation 
of meeting the education and 
training requirement, so if there is 
ever a complaint filed, there will be 
evidence of compliance. 

 
Subsection D provides that an 
endoscopic procedure shall only be 
performed by a speech-language 
pathologist on referral from an 
otolaryngologist or other qualified 
physician. The SLP is performing 
an evaluative test, but the need for 
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requested, shall ensure access to a visual 
recording for viewing.   

G. A speech-language pathologist is 
not authorized to possess or administer 
prescription drugs except as provided in 
§ 54.1-3408 B of the Code of Virginia. 

H. A speech-language pathologist 
who has been performing flexible 
endoscopic evaluations of swallowing 
prior to (insert effective date of 
regulation) may continue to perform 
such evaluations provided he has written 
verification from a board-certified 
otolaryngologist that he has the 
appropriate training, knowledge and 
skills to safely perform such evaluations. 

that evaluation and the medical 
diagnosis resulting from the 
evaluation can only be determined 
by a qualified physician, usually an 
otolaryngologist. 

 
Subsection E states that a speech-
language pathologist shall only 
perform an endoscopic procedure 
in a facility that has protocols in 
place for emergency medical 
backup. While serious 
complications or adverse reactions 
are relatively low for FEES 
examinations, it is necessary to 
have medical backup available in 
case a problem develops.  The only 
appropriate settings for an SLP to 
do an endoscopic evaluation would 
be a licensed hospital or nursing 
home (where the physician would 
be readily available in person or by 
phone and where there would be 
other licensed health care 
practitioners available) or in a 
physician office at which the 
physician is on site and available to 
the patient. 

 
Subsection F requires that “the 
speech-language pathologist shall 
promptly report any observed 
abnormality or adverse reaction to 
the referring physician and/or an 
appropriate medical specialist.  The 
purpose of a FEES procedure is 
solely to address the swallowing 
function, not to make a medical 
diagnosis.  Therefore, if there are 
clinical indications for further 
evaluation, the physician needs to 
be promptly notified. A visual 
recording of the FEES procedure is 
not always necessary for the 
physician’s report but should be 
available in case there is a need to 
see for himself what the SLP 
observed. 

 
Subsection G clarifies that a 
speech-language pathologist is not 
authorized to possess or administer 
prescription drugs except as 
provided in § 54.1-3408 B of the 
Code of Virginia. 
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Subsection H provides that if a 
speech-language pathologist has 
been performing flexible 
endoscopic evaluations of 
swallowing prior to the effective 
date of regulation, he or she may 
continue to perform such 
evaluations provided he or she has 
written verification from a board-
certified otolaryngologist that he 
has the appropriate training, 
knowledge and skills to safely 
perform such evaluations. 

150 A. No person unless otherwise licensed 
to do so, shall prepare, order, dispense, 
alter or repair hearing aids or parts of or 
attachments to hearing aids for 
consideration. However, audiologists 
licensed under this chapter may make 
earmold impressions and prepare and 
alter earmolds for clinical use and 
research.  

B. No person licensed as a school 
speech-language pathologist shall 
conduct the practice of speech-language 
pathology outside the scope of the public 
school setting.  

The prohibited conduct 
set out in section 150 is 
identical to language in 
section 230 of current 
regulations. 

 

    
    
160 The board may refuse to issue a 

license to any applicant, suspend a 
license for a stated period of time or 
indefinitely, reprimand a licensee or 
place his license on probation with such 
terms and conditions and for such time 
as it may designate, impose a monetary 
penalty, or revoke a license for any of 
the following causes:  

1. Guarantee of the results of any 
speech, voice, language, or hearing 
consultative or therapeutic procedure or 
exploitation of clients by accepting them 
for treatment when benefit cannot 
reasonably be expected to occur, or by 
continuing treatment unnecessarily;  

2. Diagnosis or treatment of speech, 
voice, language, and hearing disorders 
solely by written correspondence, 
provided this shall not preclude:  

a. Follow-up by written 
correspondence or electronic 
communication concerning 
individuals previously seen; or  
b. Providing clients with 
general information of an 
educational nature;  

Provisions on 
unprofessional conduct 
are similar to those in 
section 280 of current 
regulations, with a few 
additions: 
 
 
 
 
#1 is taken from ## 1 and 
4 in current regulation. 
 
 
 
 
 
#2 is identical to #2 in 
current regulation. 
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3. Failure to comply with provisions of 
§ 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia 
related to the confidentiality and 
disclosure of client records or related to 
provision of client records to another 
practitioner or to the client or his 
personal representative;  

4. Failure to properly manage and 
keep timely, accurate, legible and 
complete client records to include the 
following: 
a. For licensees who are employed by a 
health care institution, school system or 
other entity, in which the individual 
practitioner does not own or maintain his 
own records, failure to maintain client 
records in accordance with the policies 
and procedures of the employing entity; 
or  
b. For licensees who are self-employed 
or employed by an entity in which the 
individual practitioner does own and is 
responsible for client records, failure to 
maintain a client record for: 
(1) A minimum of six years following 
the last client encounter with the 
following exceptions; or 
(2) For records of a minor child, until the 
child reaches the age of 18 or becomes 
emancipated, with a minimum time for 
record retention of six years from the 
last client encounter regardless of the 
age of the child; or  
c. Records that have previously been 
transferred to another practitioner or 
health care provider or provided to the 
client or his personal representative are 
not required to be maintained for such 
periods; 

5. Engaging or attempting to engage 
in a relationship with a client that 
constitutes a professional boundary 
violation in which the practitioner uses 
his professional position to take 
advantage of the vulnerability of a client 
or his family, including but not limited 
to sexual misconduct with a client or a 
member of his family or other conduct 
that results or could result in personal 
gain at the expense of the client;  

6. Incompetence or negligence in 
the practice of the profession;  

7. Failure to comply with applicable 
state and federal statutes or regulations 
specifying the consultations and 
examinations required prior to the fitting 

 
#3 is similar to provisions 
in current #3 in section 
280, but is more explicit 
about patient records by 
citing § 32.1-127.1:03. 
 
 
#4 is new language. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
#5 Provisions on 
professional boundaries 
are new in proposed 
regulations.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
## 6 through 11 are found 
in current regulations in 
section 280 as ## 5 
through 10 

Failure to comply with disclosure 
requirements for patient records is 
currently not a citable violation.  
Practitioners licensed by this board 
may be cited for a violation of law 
governing the practice but 
adherence to law on client records 
is not specified as unprofessional 
conduct. 
Likewise, there are currently no 
rules for maintenance of 
patient/client records, so 
practitioners are uncertain about 
their responsibilities.  The 
proposed rules are identical to 
those for professions licensed 
under the Board of Medicine.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
#5 – While the Board does not 
often encounter professional 
boundary issues with these 
professions, there should be 
provisions that would allow a 
citable violation if the facts of a 
case warrant disciplinary action.  
The language adopted is similar to 
provisions in regulations for 
dentistry, nursing and other 
professions. 
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of a new or replacement prosthetic aid 
for any communicatively impaired 
person;  

8. Failure to refer a client to an 
appropriate health care practitioner when 
there is evidence of an impairment for 
which assessment, evaluation, care or 
treatment might be necessary;  

9. Failure to supervise persons who 
assist them in the practice of speech-
language pathology and audiology as 
well as failure to disclose the use and 
identity of unlicensed assistants;  

10. Conviction of a felony or a 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude;  

11. Failure to comply with federal, 
state, or local laws and regulations 
governing the practice of audiology or 
speech-language pathology;  

12. Publishing or causing to be 
published in any manner an 
advertisement relating to his 
professional practice which is false, 
deceptive or misleading;  

13. Inability to practice with skill 
and safety;  

14. Fraud, deceit or 
misrepresentation in submission of an 
application for licensure or renewal of 
licensure, in the submission of 
supervisory forms, or in the practice of 
audiology or speech-language 
pathology;  
15. Aiding and abetting unlicensed 
activity; or 
16. Revocation, suspension, restriction 
or any other discipline of a license or 
certificate to practice or surrender of 
license or certificate while investigation 
or administrative proceedings are 
pending in another regulatory agency in 
Virginia, another U. S. jurisdiction or a 
foreign jurisdiction. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
#12, relating specifically 
to advertisement is new. 
 
 
 
#13 is identical to #12 in 
current section 280. 
#14 is a combination of 
##13 and 14 in current 
regulation, but is more 
specific about 
misrepresentation of one’s 
professional credentials to 
include submission of 
applications or 
supervisory forms. 
 
#15 is identical to #15 in 
current section 280. 
#16 is similar to #16 in 
current section 280, 
except another regulatory 
agency is included. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
While #12 is new for this chapter, 
it is commonly cited as 
unprofessional conduct in 
regulations for other professions.  
Currently, the Board has a 
prohibition on “making material 
misrepresentation,” but nothing 
that specifically addresses false, 
misleading or deceptive 
advertising. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
In #16, another regulatory agency 
was included because the Board 
recently was notified of the 
revocation of a hearing aid license 
and could not specifically use that 
revocation to discipline the license 
of the audiologist.  A similar 
situation could arise in which a 
teaching license of a speech-
language pathologist could be 
revoked for cause by the 
Department of Education, and the 
Board would need to cite that 
action to revoke the practitioner 
license. 

170 Criteria for delegation to an agency All of section 170 is  
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subordinate. 
A. Decision to delegate. In 

accordance with § 54.1-2400 (10) of the 
Code of Virginia, the board may 
delegate an informal fact-finding 
proceeding to an agency subordinate 
upon determination that probable cause 
exists that a practitioner may be subject 
to a disciplinary action.  

B. Criteria for delegation. Cases that 
may not be delegated to an agency 
subordinate include, but are not limited 
to, those that involve:  

1. Intentional or negligent conduct 
that causes or is likely to cause injury to 
a patient;  

2. Mandatory suspension resulting 
from action by another jurisdiction or a 
felony conviction;  

3. Impairment with an inability to 
practice with skill and safety;  

4. Sexual misconduct;  
5. Unauthorized practice.  
C. Criteria for an agency 

subordinate.  
1. An agency subordinate 

authorized by the board to conduct an 
informal fact-finding proceeding may 
include board members and professional 
staff or other persons deemed 
knowledgeable by virtue of their training 
and experience in administrative 
proceedings involving the regulation and 
discipline of health professionals.  

2. The executive director shall 
maintain a list of appropriately qualified 
persons to whom an informal fact-
finding proceeding may be delegated.  

3. The board may delegate to the 
executive director the selection of the 
agency subordinate who is deemed 
appropriately qualified to conduct a 
proceeding based on the qualifications of 
the subordinate and the type of case 
being heard.  
 

identical to section 290 in 
current regulations. 

 
 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2400

